Still here

10 Nov

It’s been a long time since I had time to work on my D&D/gaming apps.  You may have noticed that I released a new version of Hex Map Pro this week.  Not a major update, but I added a few features that people had mentioned.

  • Double-tap the “C”/clear color on the drawing tab to erase all the colored cells/
  • Any token can be turned into a die/random number generator. (iPad only currently)
  • Updated for the larger iPhone 5 screen.
  • Grid color can be changed.
  • Option to have the text on the back of each token automatically match the front.

As I get suggestions from people about what I should do next, I often wonder how you actually use the app.  Are you using it to run RPG games?  Design maps?  Play other types of games?  I’ve realized that I’m a big handicapped in improving the app because I’ve literally never seen anyone (except my kids) actually use Hex Map Pro.  So I’d love to hear from you and maybe get some screen shots.  Leave a comment if you’re willing to chat via e-mail about your use of the app.  Thanks.

4 Responses to “Still here”

  1. andyslack December 10, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    I use it Hex Map Pro extensively for solo gaming and to a lesser extent as a visual aid in face to face RPG sessions. I blog about a lot of the games with screenshots, you can see those here: http://andyslack.wordpress.com/

    I’d be happy to chat about the app further – I love it. PM me if you’d like to discuss.

  2. Greg December 16, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Hex Map is exactly what I’m looking for and I’d buy the Pro version, except for one thing. I’d like it on the PC. I have an iPhone and the screen is just too small to use this and I think the iPad would be better, but still not quite large enough. I’ve been looking for software just like this for the PC, and you’d think someone would have written it by now, but not that I can find. If you do port this to the PC, let me know!

  3. iheartgrace January 20, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    We use Hex Map Pro all the time in gaming sessions, lately. I’ve found many great battle maps from the Cartography Guild forums that I import into HEx Map, and use the tokens to visually play through the adventures. It’s Ben great. Some requests I and my PCs would make are: Custom tokens, let us import images in place of simple labels on them. Also, we use custom Monster Cards (either printed or, more often, shown on my iPhone) it would be nice I there was a way to show auxiliary images/information from Hex Map itself. Anyway, I love the app and use it weekly. Well worth the $4, thanks.

    • Kirke January 20, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      I appreciate the kind words and suggestions. Custom tokens are very high on the proverbial list.

Leave a Reply

