Yay.

7 Mar

Hex Map Pro in the App Store

It’s approved and available for sale.

In the week between when I submitted it and it was approved I found and fixed a couple of minor glitches, so I’ll be posting a 1.0.1 version shortly.  For example, on iPad version only the 7th of the 10 color buttons doesn’t respond to touches on the left side, so it acts like a sticky button.  And on the iPhone version the change board feature doesn’t correctly identify which board you were on.  As I said, minor glitches and fixed but not yet submitted.

5 Responses to “Yay.”

  1. John March 8, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    Love the app. Just bought the pro version and it’s great. Is there a possibility of a future update for using stored images for boards and/or tokens?

    • Kirke March 8, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks John. Those suggestions are absolutely “on the list.” I expect that custom boards will be easier and come first. Stay tuned, and thanks again.

  2. Stephen Roddick March 12, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    This applies at least to the iPhone version of the app
    Deleting a board from the select board section crashes the app. Deletion works fine from the board itself.

    I’ve managed to crash it drawing in colours. Though I crud manage to repeat this crash I have no idea as to what (aside from colouring) is causing this.

    The current board is not correctly identifying itself or the boards are not switching properly. When I click board 1 it indicates the current board is board 2 when I click board 5 (the last) it indicates the current is board 1. Deleting from the board itself deletes the “current” board and it seems to be gone.

    Fyi

    • Stephen Roddick March 12, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Looks good though.

    • Kirke March 12, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Thanks for the bugs reports (and for buying the app).

      I didn’t realize the swipe to delete was turned on for the change-board screen. I’ll probably just disable that. That may be what’s causing the other problem with the board numbering. I’ll get that fixed shortly.

      The occasional crash is a trickier issue. It’s not a “bug” per se, it’s a more general optimization issue. The iPhone (compared to most computers) has quite limited memory, and when it runs out, it gives one chances for apps to free up some more memory, and then quits the current app. I’m in my first year of iOS development, so I’m sure there are memory management tricks I’ll learn (sooner and later) that will reduce this occurrence. The easy thing I can do is reduce the size of the boards for the older phones/iPod touches that have less memory.

      If you find a repeatable crash (like the delete board thing) then that’s a bug. If not then don’t worry about trying to find the cause, it’s random based on what else you have running and other factors. It’s pretty infrequent though, right? And you only lose the last drawing you did? Which iPhone are you using? Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

