Done.

1 Mar

Hex Map Pro has been submitted to the App Store.

If history is any guide, the anonymous gnomes who review apps for approval should get their mitts on it on or around March 6th and release it to the App Store a few hours later.  That will move it to the top of the “what new” list in the game section and thousands of people will give it a look.  After that it will drift down the list and only be found by people who search using one of the right key words or are referred by friends.  If any of you have ideas for how to let other people know about this app or others, please either let me know or, you know, just do it.

If you’ve been following along, you know what to expect in this first non-free release of a Hex Map app.  No, the must-requested “let me use my own map” option isn’t there (yet), but the also popular “don’t crash as much” and “I want multiple saves” are there.  I finally settled on a price of $3.99.  I think that’s fair, especially since the free Hex Map app is also available.  I hope at least a quarter of the Hex Map users decide it’s worth upgrading, but we’ll just have to see what happens.

Thanks for your support and suggestions.

4 Responses to “Done.”

  1. Brendan March 1, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    $3.99 is a little pricy for me. It is an awesome app and all, and (according to you) doesn’t crash anymore, but I still think it is a little pricy for something I could make with pen and pencil.

    • Brendan March 1, 2012 at 6:40 am #

      Lol. *Pen and Paper.

  2. Damian March 5, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    $4 may be pricey compared to some apps, but based on the (pretty sweet) free version, I like what I see and want to support the work. Viva los hexes!

    • Kirke March 6, 2012 at 2:31 am #

      Thanks. Pricing is complicated. In part we’re all spoiled by all the great free and 99c apps out there. On the other hand, we spend $4 on a snack or $8 on a lead figure or $5 on a couple of dice without thinking twice about it. The free version is out there and I hope people enjoy it. When/if it’s worth a few bucks for the added features, people will upgrade to the pro version. The money that trickles in for the various apps will help me decide which ones to invest my limited time in enhancing. I expect that Hex Map Pro will be a “big hit” (for me, not for someone doing this for a living) and it’ll encourage me to keep investing time into making it better. On the other hand, if it’s not worth a few bucks for people then that’s a sign I’m investing my time inefficiently. But I’m optimistic that tomorrow or the day after when it’s released (knock on wood), I’ll be happy with the response.

Leave a Reply

