Hex Map Pro coming “soon”

31 Jan

Good news and bad news:

  • Good: I’ve made significant progress on the new release of Hex Map (color your own hexes/squares, whoo!)
  • Bad (maybe): The new features will appear in a new not-free app.

I’m going to keep Hex Map free, and probably add a few features here and there over time, but it’s time to introduce the “pro” version.  Well not quite time–I have to finish it, but you know what I mean.

What will differentiate the pro version from the free version?  Some combination of the following:

  • Multiple saves: keep any number of maps on your iDevice.
  • Customize maps: initially this means the ability to color hexes/squares; later probably change the background images and drawing.
  • More token features: more shapes, more text options, flippable tokens early on; later maybe upload your own images.

As more feature get added to the pro version, I’ll probably replace the free version with a limited version of the latest pro app.  The idea being that the free version should always be cool, fun, and useful, but the pro version will be a compelling upgrade.

I’ll probably be late February at the earliest before the pro version is ready.  Quite a bit of work remains, but lots of testing.  This will essentially be the end of the Beta test period and I don’t want any one-star reviews because of crashes.

Here’s a screenshot of the work in progress.

9 Responses to “Hex Map Pro coming “soon””

  1. Stuart Greenwell (@StuartGreenwell) January 31, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    I look forward to your progress. Both of your “maybes” (upload your images into the background and tokens) are keeping me for using it in my RPG game. But, I will buy the pro version to show my support of your efforts.

    Request. There are a LOT of maps you can buy/find/download from the internet that are really good, but have squares already on them. The ability to resize the app squares/hexes and match them up to the map squares on the image (then turn off the visibility of the app squares) will make this the best in class.

    I look forward to seeing what you do. If you ever need a beta tester, give me a hollar.

    • Brendan February 1, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      Will the pro version still crash on my iPod like the free version does? If so, maybe the ability to change the size of map shown will reduce the likelyhood of the app crashing (if we make the map smaller). This is such an awesome app as is and can’t wait for the new features! I will definately pay for the pro version! Can’t wait!

      • Kirke February 1, 2012 at 9:46 am #

        Not if I can help it. At least now when it crashes you don’t lose your work. I know, that’s pretty lame, but it’s still an improvement. Unfortunately it doesn’t crash because of “bug” it just crashes because I’m not handling memory very efficiently. A bug might be easier to root out and quash. But I’m optimistic that I can get it so it’s rock solid sooner or later. Obviously there are much more complex apps than mine that never run out of memory and close, so it’s not a limitation of the platform. Thanks for your encouragement and patience.

    • Brendan February 1, 2012 at 6:57 am #

      Whoops, I guess I replayed to your comment… Oh well.

      • Brendan February 1, 2012 at 6:58 am #

        *replyed

  2. Peter February 4, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I love this app. I just want to know when will the pro version will come out. Because I really want to be able to paint on tiles! I also hope that you will soon be able to upload your own images that would be really cool!

    • Peter February 8, 2012 at 6:24 am #

      Oops sorry I didn’t read all of it, so late February ok sounds good!

  3. Hunter February 8, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I’m not sure the best place to post this but one feature I would like to see is allowing the facing arrow to point at the hex corners as well as the hex sides.

    • Kirke February 10, 2012 at 3:43 am #

      This is the perfect place to post suggestions.

      You’re suggesting that one tap on one of the rotate buttons would turn the token 1/12 of a full rotation rather than 1/6? (and 1/8 when the grid is square). I’ll try that out and see how that feels. I suspect it’ll be a bit annoying (since it’ll require more taps to make a half rotation), but we’ll see.

      Have you discovered that you can turn a token to any facing if you use two fingers to rotate the knob (iPad version only)?

      Thanks for the suggestion. Keep ’em coming.

Leave a Reply

